The Mitchell County Commissioners met in formal session at 8:30 a.m. on Friday, December 29, 2023. Chairman Jim Marshall and members Tom Claussen and Mike Cooper were in attendance.

The meeting was called to order and the Pledge of Allegiance was recited.

The minutes of the December 18, 2023 meeting were approved as written on motion by Tom Claussen and seconded by Mike Cooper. Motion carried by unanimous vote.

Terrence Silvia, Deputy Director Communications, requested a 10-minute executive session for non-elected personnel per KSA 75-4318 with the three commissioners and Clerk Heather Weston. The session was granted on motion by Tom Claussen and seconded by Mike Cooper. Motion carried by unanimous vote. The session started at 8:32 a.m. and ended at 8:42 a.m. with no decisions being made in executive session.

Sheriff Tony Perez requested a 15-minute executive session for non-elected personnel per KSA 75-4318 with the three commissioners and Weston. The session was granted on motion by Tom Claussen and seconded by Mike Cooper. Motion carried by unanimous vote. The session started at 8:45 a.m. and ended at 9:00 a.m. with no decisions being made in executive session.

On motion by Tom Claussen and seconded by Mike Cooper the 2024 annual contribution for KCAMP of \$100,423 and KWORCC for \$92,614 were approved. Motion carried by unanimous vote. On motion by Jim Marshall and seconded by Tom Claussen the membership with the League of Municipalities was dropped. Motion carried by unanimous vote. On motion by Tom Claussen and seconded by Mike Cooper the annual memberships with KAC for \$2,047.60 and NCRPC for \$3,500 were approved. Motion carried by unanimous vote.

The commissioners expressed their appreciation to Bridget Gasper for her years of service on the hospital board. Braden Hake, Tipton, was approved to replace Gasper on motion by Tom Claussen and seconded by Mike Cooper. Motion carried by unanimous vote.

Marty Hernandez, Public Works Director, and Missy McGinnis. EMS Director, were present for end of year transfers. On motion by Tom Claussen and seconded by Mike Cooper the following transfers were approved. Motion carried by unanimous vote.

Resolution 23-11 \$400,000 Road & Bridge Regular Fund transfer to Road & Bridge Special Machinery Resolution 23-12 \$150,000 Road & Bridge Regular Fund transfer to Special Highway Improvement Fund Resolution 23-13 \$50,000 Road & Bridge Regular Fund transfer to Road & Bridge Capital Outlay Resolution 23-14 \$50,000 County Health Regular Fund transfer to County Health Capital Outlay Resolution 23-15 \$27,800 Solomon Rapids FD #3 transfer to FD #3 Special Equipment Fund Resolution 23-16 \$23,000 Election Regular Fund transfer to Election Technology Fund Resolution 23-17 \$120,000 General Fund transfer to Road & Bridge Fund (2024) Resolution 23-18 \$50,000 General Fund transfer to Courthouse Renovation (2024) Resolution 23-19 \$100,000 General Fund transfer to Solid Waste (2024) Resolution 23-20 \$100,000 General Fund transfer to Solid Waste (2024) Resolution 23-21 \$174,500 Ambulance Regular Fund transfer to Ambulance Capital Outlay Resolution 23-22 \$174,500 Ambulance Regular Fund transfer to Rescue Squad Capital Outlay Resolution 23-23 \$5,867 Ambulance Regular Fund transfer to Rescue Squad Capital Outlay Resolution 23-24 \$3,644.76 Ambulance Regular Fund transfer to Special Reappraisal Reg Fund Resolution 23-25 \$20,000 Special Reappraisal Capital Outlay transfer to Special Reappraisal Reg Fund

McGinnis received \$8,000 from the Houghton Family Foundation and will put the money towards two motorized stair chairs. Weston notified the commissioners of the 2024 election dates and the change of location for voters who vote in Beloit. The location will be the New Mitchell County Fair Building.

Terrence Silvia was asked back for a 15-minute executive session for non-elected personnel per KSA 75-4318 with the three commissioners and Weston. The session was granted on motion by Tom Claussen and seconded by Mike Cooper. Motion carried by unanimous vote. The session started at 10:00 a.m. and ended at 10:15 a.m. with no decisions being made in executive session. In open session, Terrence Silvia was announced as the new Director of Communications. The meeting was adjourned at 10:32 a.m. on motion by Mike Cooper and seconded by Tom Claussen. Motion carried by unanimous vote. The next meeting will be January 8, 2024.

\_\_\_\_\_ Tom Claussen, Chairman

ATTEST: Heather Weston, Mitchell County Clerk