The Mitchell County Commissioners met in formal session at 8:30 a.m. on Monday, December 11, 2023. Chairman Jim Marshall and member Tom Claussen were in attendance.

The meeting was called to order and the Pledge of Allegiance was recited.

The minutes of the November 27, 2023 and December 4, 2023 meetings were approved as written on motion by Tom Claussen and seconded by Jim Marshall. Motion carried by unanimous vote.

On motion by Tom Claussen and seconded by Jim Marshall Resolution 23-09 Mitchell County Procurement Policy was approved. Motion carried by unanimous vote.

On motion by Tom Claussen and seconded by Jim Marshall Resolution 23-10 North Central Kansas Solid Waste Management Plan was approved. Motion carried by unanimous vote.

On motion by Jim Marshall and seconded by Tom Claussen a letter was signed to appoint David Dohe, EM Director, to the Homeland Security Council for the 2024-2026 term. Motion carried by unanimous vote.

Brian Streit, Maintenance Supervisor, requested a 10-minute executive session for non-elected personnel per KSA 75-4318 for employee evaluations with Commissioners Claussen, Marshall and County Clerk Heather Weston. The session was granted on motion by Tom Claussen and seconded by Jim Marshall. Motion carried by unanimous vote. Session started at 8:43 a.m. and ended at 8:53 a.m. with no decisions being made in executive session.

Noxious Weed Director Jason Vetter requested a 10-minute executive session for non-elected personnel per KSA 75-4318 for employee evaluations with Commissioners Claussen, Marshall and County Clerk Weston. The session was granted on motion by Tom Claussen and seconded by Jim Marshall. Motion carried by unanimous vote. Session started at 9:01 a.m. and ended at 9:11 a.m. with no decisions being made in executive session.

Becky Snook, Communications Director, requested a 10-minute executive session for non-elected personnel per KSA 75-4318 for employee evaluations with Commissioners Claussen, Marshall and County Clerk Weston. The session was granted on motion by Tom Claussen and seconded by Jim Marshall. Motion carried by unanimous vote. The session started at 9:15 a.m. and ended at 9:25 a.m. with no decisions being made in executive session.

In open session, Snook presented the commissioners a letter of resignation as of January 31, 2024. She has accepted a position on the Kansas 911 Coordinating Council. The commissioners expressed their appreciation for years of service to the county and wished her the best in the future.

County Treasurer, Yvonne Melton, requested a 15-minute executive session for non-elected personnel per KSA 75-4318 for employee evaluations with Commissioners Claussen and Marshall. The session was granted on motion by Tom Claussen and seconded by Jim Marshall. Motion carried by unanimous vote. The session started at 9:32 a.m. and ended at 9:47 a.m. with no decisions being made in executive session.

Heather Weston, County Clerk, requested a 15-minute executive session for non-elected personnel per KSA 75-4318 for employee evaluations with Commissioners Claussen and Marshall. The session was granted on motion by Tom Claussen and seconded by Jim Marshall. Motion carried by unanimous vote. The session started at 9:51 a.m. and ended at 10:06 a.m. with no decisions being made in executive session.

The meeting was adjourned at 10:22 a.m. on motion by Tom Claussen and seconded by Jim Marshall. Motion carried by unanimous vote.

_ Jim Marshall, Chairman

ATTEST: Heather Weston, Mitchell County Clerk

The **December 11, 2023 Multi-County Meeting** was called to order by Craig Pottberg in Osborne. Representatives from Osborne, Jewell, Smith and Mitchell counties were in attendance. Phillip Murrow, LEPG, was present to discuss appointing a board for the LEPG. It was agreed that each county in the LEPG will appoint a representative to said board. The first meeting will be at the Smith County Courthouse January 26th at 1:30 p.m. Other topics of discussion were health insurance, employee reviews, and solid waste. The meeting was adjourned at 1:13 p.m. on motion by Bill Seaman and seconded by Craig Pottberg. Motion carried by unanimous vote. The next Multi-County Meeting will be held in Smith County.